The Law offices of Arnold & Smith - John Price Carr House
You cannot reason with the unreasonable;
When it is time to fight,
WE FIGHT TO WIN.

Our office continues to operate during our regular business hours, which are 8:30 am - 5:30 pm, Monday through Friday, but you can call the office 24 hours a day. We continue to follow all recommendations and requirements of the State of Emergency Stay at Home Order. Consultations are available via telephone or by video conference. The safety of our clients and employees is of the utmost importance and, therefore, in-person meetings are not available at this time except for emergencies or absolutely essential legal services.

Charlotte Revoked License Lawyers

In North Carolina, driving is a privilege, not a right. North Carolina has the authority to regulate driver’s licenses and can restrict driving privileges by suspending or restricting licenses. When an individual has accumulated too many points on their license, received a first-time DWI charge, or another traffic violation, the legal consequences of driving without a license afterward can be extremely serious. If your license has been revoked, it is important to speak with an attorney about your legal options as soon as possible.

Contact Our Charlotte Revoked Driver’s License Attorneys

If you are facing a traffic charge or a DWI charge, an attorney can help defend your rights. Living without a driver’s license can be extremely challenging, as you will not be able to drive to and from work and school or run errands. Life without a driver’s license is full of inconveniences and can cause individuals to rely on others for assistance in something as simple as going to the grocery store. Being dependent on others can cause a great deal of stress and put a strain on relationships.

If you need help getting your driving privileges back in North Carolina, the attorneys at Arnold & Smith, PLLC can help. We understand how disruptive it can be to lose your license. Contact us as soon as possible to schedule a consultation and learn how we can fight for your driver’s license.

Reasons for a Charlotte Driver’s License Suspension

In North Carolina, courts can suspend a driver’s license for a wide variety of reasons, including, but not limited to:

  • Refusing to take a breathalyzer test
  • Accumulating too many points on your license for traffic violations over three years
  • Exceeding the speed limit by over 15 miles-per-hour
  • Failure to carry driver’s liability insurance
  • Driving while impaired (DWI)
  • Reckless driving, such as racing
A Suspended License vs. a Revoked License

In North Carolina, a suspended license is slightly different from a revoked license. If a driver’s license is suspended, their driving privileges are temporarily revoked for a designated period and may be reinstated once the suspension terms are fulfilled. If a driver’s license is revoked, their driving privileges are terminated and can only be reinstated if they meet the eligibility requirements and any additional conditions outlined in a hearing. Stated plainly, lesser violation offenses are associated with the suspension of an individual’s license, while more serious violations are linked to the revocation of an individual’s license. Therefore, a suspension is a lesser punishment than a revocation.

Getting Your Driver’s License Reinstates After A License Suspension

If your driver’s license has been suspended, all that may be required to reinstate your license is to wait for the period of suspension to pass, as well as paying all fines assigned. As previously touched on, the duration and fee amount depend on the activity, or activities, you were convicted of, with worse offenses warranting more suspension time and increased fee charges.

Getting Your Driver’s License Back After a License Revocation

At Arnold & Smith, PLLC, our attorneys can help get your driver’s license back after it has been revoked. The process of getting your driver’s license reinstated after revocation can be difficult. For example, you will be required to take legal action as opposed to merely awaiting the conclusion of an assigned suspension and paying a fee. An example of a severe revocation involves the conviction of a third, or subsequent, DWI charge, whereby the court will likely revoke the driver’s license of the convicted party. Upon revocation, they can request a hearing after three years have elapsed from the date that they received their third, or subsequent, DWI charge. At the hearing, their attorney will present a case as to why the DMV should reinstate their driver’s license.

Contact Us Today

At Arnold & Smith, PLLC, we can investigate your case and present evidence at the hearing to demonstrate to the court that you are ready and able to have your driver’s license reinstated. If the judge rules in your favor at the hearing, then you will have the opportunity to apply for a new North Carolina driver’s license. Contact us today to schedule your initial consultation.

For your convenience and safety, we now offer phone and video conferencing. If you prefer an in-person consultation, we have three easy to reach locations in Uptown Charlotte, Mooresville, and Monroe. Contact us today by calling 704-370-2828 to learn how we can defend your rights.