The Law offices of Arnold & Smith - John Price Carr House
You cannot reason with the unreasonable;
When it is time to fight,
WE FIGHT TO WIN.

Our office continues to operate during our regular business hours, which are 8:30 am - 5:30 pm, Monday through Friday, but you can call the office 24 hours a day. We continue to follow all recommendations and requirements of the State of Emergency Stay at Home Order. Consultations are available via telephone or by video conference. The safety of our clients and employees is of the utmost importance and, therefore, in-person meetings are not available at this time except for emergencies or absolutely essential legal services.

Charlotte Defense Lawyers for Unlawful Possession of a Firearm

If you have been charged with unlawful possession of a firearm in Charlotte, you could face significant consequences. There are multiple, different state and federal gun crime charges. At Arnold & Smith, PLLC, our lawyers have extensive experience defending clients against many different gun crimes. Contact our Charlotte criminal defense law firm as soon as possible to schedule your case evaluation to learn how we can fight for your rights.

Types of Gun or Weapons Charges in Charlotte, North Carolina

At Arnold & Smith, PLLC, we have represented clients in a variety of different state and federal gun crimes charges, including the following:

  • Unlawful possession of a weapon
  • Possession of an illegal firearm
  • Assault with a deadly weapon
  • Possession of a firearm by a convicted felon
  • Possession of a stolen firearm
  • Violations related to concealed-carry laws
Unlawful Possession of a Firearm in North Carolina

Under North Carolina law, it is illegal to possess a firearm in all of the following circumstances:

  • The possessor of the firearm is under the age of 21
  • The possessor of the firearm concealed the weapon without a proper permit
  • The possessor of the firearm is prohibited from possessing the firearm due to an active restraining order
  • The possessor of the firearm is prohibited due to a domestic violence conviction

Were you unaware that you were not allowed to lawfully possess a firearm? Every day, reasonable and responsible gun owners face charges for unlawful possession of a firearm in North Carolina. Overly aggressive prosecutors will often push for the most severe penalties for gun possession charges.

If you are facing unlawful possession of a firearm charge in Charlotte, our legal team can help. We know the best defenses to make regarding these charges and we will fight hard for your rights throughout the entire process.

Possession of a Firearm by a Felon

One of the most commonly charged firearm possession crimes is possession of a firearm by a felon. When a defendant has become convicted of one or more felonies, then their gun rights will become permanently altered. Convicted felons are not permitted to purchase, own, possess, or have in their custody or control any firearm, or any weapon of mass destruction.

The penalties for conviction of possession of a firearm by a felon depend on the circumstances of your case. Those defendants charged with a Class G felony face sentences between 10 and 25 months in prison. Defendants might also be required to pay fines and experience months or years of probation.

Other North Carolina Weapon Possession Charges

North Carolina prohibits several different types of possession of a firearm. North Carolina laws dictate when and where you can carry your handgun and rifle. If you do not abide by these rules, you can face misdemeanor or felony offense charges. If you have been charged with a firearm possession crime, our experienced criminal defense attorneys can assist in defending against these charges.

Carrying a Concealed Weapon

It is illegal in North Carolina to willfully and intentionally carry a concealed weapon on your person. The term concealed weapons include certain knives, loaded cane, slingshots, metallic knuckles, razors, stun guns, and firearms, and any other type of deadly weapon. Only individuals with valid Concealed Carry Permits for a handgun may carry a concealed weapon.

Possession of Concealed Weapon While Consuming Alcohol

Under North Carolina law, it is illegal to carry a concealed handgun while you are consuming alcohol or after you have consumed alcohol, whether or not you have a permit to carry the concealed weapon. Additionally, individuals may not wear a handgun while at a restaurant or bar while drinking alcohol, or when any consumed alcohol remains in their system.

Possession of a Stolen Firearm

Prosecutors can charge the crime of possession of a stolen firearm as a misdemeanor or a felony. If you are accused of stealing any kind of firearm that uses propulsion of a shot, you will face felony charges, even if you could not fire the firearm at the time of the theft.

Possession of a Firearm with a Serial Number Removed

Under North Carolina law, it is illegal to deface, destroy, alter, or remove any permanent serial number or other identification marks on a firearm. Knowingly buying, selling, or possessing a firearm with an altered or removed serial number is also a crime in North Carolina. These crimes are charged as Class H felonies.

Contact Our Experienced Criminal Defense Lawyers Today

If you are facing criminal charges for possession of a weapon, our criminal defense lawyers can help you fight your charges. Contact our experienced legal team at Arnold & Smith, PLLC as soon as possible to schedule your case evaluation today.