Violent Crimes: Assault
North Carolina courts take assaults very seriously. In fact, you may be convicted of an assault without even making contact with the victim. As such, a strong criminal defense is critical to ensuring that your rights are protected. Contact Arnold & Smith, PLLC today for an experienced attorney who will fiercely advocate on your behalf and make sure your side of the story is told.
At Arnold & Smith, PLLC, we understand that there are two sides to every incident. We will listen to your side of the story and fight to protect your rights. Whether you were defending yourself, you lost your temper, or were simply involved in a bar scuffle, our experienced attorneys will work with you to develop a powerful defense and fight for a favorable resolution. We understand that your life and reputation are on the line.Common Types of Assaults
Misdemeanor Assaults: Verbal confrontations, insignificant fights, and minor physical contact are often classified as misdemeanor assault. If you’ve been charged with a misdemeanor assault, you could face up to 150 days in jail; however, our experienced attorneys will work for you to fight to get your charges reduced or dropped.
Assaults with a Deadly Weapon: Assault with a deadly weapon is a felony offense in North Carolina. A deadly weapon may be nearly anything—any weapon or tool that has the potential of causing death. A firearm, knife, automobile, ATV, strangulation device, club, or even a boat can be considered deadly weapons. The potential repercussions for felonious assault with a deadly weapon generally range from Class C felonies to Class E felonies.
If the court finds there was intent to kill the victim and the assault resulted in serious bodily injury, you face a Class C felony and anywhere from 44-92 months in prison for your first offense. If you have a record, the jail time can increase significantly.
If the court finds you were without any intent to kill, but serious bodily injury still resulted, you’re considered less blameworthy but can still face a Class E felony charge, and, if convicted you face 15-31 months in prison for your first offense. Of course, this sentence can also increase significantly if you have a criminal record.
If you did intend to kill, but no serious bodily injury occurred, you may still be convicted of a Class E felony and also face 15-31 months for your first offense.Other Factors In Assault Cases
In addition to varying degrees of assault based on weapons used and injuries caused, assault charges can also vary depending on who the victim is and where the assault occurred. For example, if the victim is elderly or handicapped, or if the victim is a teacher, fireman, or police officer, your potential sentence could increase significantly. Likewise, if the assault is committed in a public place, such as at a school or a bus stop, your potential sentence could increase even further. Because these factors can dramatically increase a sentence, even a minor assault can result in major jail time—don’t hesitate to contact our office to make sure you don’t do time that you don’t deserve.Other Types of Assault:
Arnold & Smith, PLLC criminal defense attorneys have experience successfully handling a wide variety of criminal offenses. The following are examples of assault crimes which our office will handle on your behalf:
|Restraining Order Hearings
|Assault with a Deadly Weapon
|Assault by Pointing a Gun
|Assault Inflicting Serious Injury
|Carrying a Concealed Weapon
|Assault on a Female
|Assault on an Officer
|All other assaults